[identity profile] tigs.livejournal.com posting in [community profile] ds_flashfiction
Title: Gunslinger
Author: tigs
Characters: RayK & RayV (Gen)
Disclaimer: So not mine.
Rating: PG-13
Summary: "So let me get this straight," Vecchio said. "Today—today of all days, in the middle of a shootout—you decided it would be a good time to start channeling your inner-mountie?" [Post-CotW]

Author's Notes: Many thanks to [livejournal.com profile] visionshadows for the beta!



After, as Ray was staring at his empty fingers—where, only moments before, there had been a gun—as he was listening to the perp scream obscenities ("Fuck! You broke my mother fucking hand, you fuck!") off to his left, all he could think was: Well, okay then.

And also: Damn it, Fraser.

Because Chicago cops, see, they didn't throw their guns at perps in an attempt to—to disarm their assailants. Not even when they had an empty clip and thus, for as long as it took them to reload, the gun was just a useless hunk of metal.

Not even when they were trying to distract said perp from shooting their partner who had to have been down to his last bullet or two, too.

They just didn't do that.

That just was not the way it was done.

And Ray knew that.

Which was why he was staring at his hands, barely watching as their backup—who'd arrived at the other end of the alley in just the nick of time, in the moment just before Ray had thrown his weapon away—led the punk, the foulmouthed little shit, to one of the waiting squad cars.

("Fuck you!" the guy shouted, at Gomez, or maybe it was supposed to be directed at Ray. "Fuck you, you fucker!")

Because seriously, Ray thought, staring down at his hand. One minute, the gun had been there, wrapped tightly in his grip, and the next it had been hurtling through the air like a lethal boomerang and who in their right mind thought that that was an intelligent way to use a gun? No one, that's who.

Well, no one, that is, except for—

"So let me get this straight," Vecchio said, suddenly there, leaning against the car beside him, looking faintly amused. "You've been back from your Great Northern Adventure for three months now, and today—today of all days, in the middle of a shootout—you decided it would be a good time to start channeling your inner-mountie? Maybe next time you could give a guy some warning so he can get into the appropriate mindset for dealing with mounties and all associated weirdness, you know?"

Vecchio was laughing, but Ray was still looking down at his hand, flexing his fingers, curling them tightly and then letting them go loose again.

"I just—" he started, but then he stopped, because Vecchio didn't seem to be mad—wasn't yelling at him anyway—so why was he having such a problem with this? Aside from the fact that it had been a completely stupid thing to do, of course. Because guns were not boomerangs and should never be used as such, and he knew that, and still he'd gone and thrown it. Just slung it through the air, like it was a normal thing to do.

So yeah, okay, he had a right to be wanting to kick himself in the head.

"'You just—?'" Vecchio prompted when Ray didn't continue, and now he seemed to realize that Ray wasn't laughing, that he wasn't amused. His smile faded and then he was frowning at Ray, so Ray turned so that he could lean back against the car, too.

"I just," he started again.

He'd emptied his clip into the corner of that dumpster the punk'd been stowing away behind, but when he'd ducked down behind the car to reload, right, he'd seen the kid start towards the doorway where Vecchio was hiding, and— And he'd known he wouldn't be able to reload before the kid reached Vecchio, or before Vecchio ran out of bullets so he'd just—

"I—" he said.

"You reacted," Vecchio said.

"—pulled a Fraser," Ray finished. "Used my gun as a boomerang. Did something completely stupid."

He paused, waiting for Vecchio to either agree or disagree, but when the other man did neither he sighed, continued: "Apparently you can only work with him for so long before he starts rubbing off on you. In ways that displace 12 years of training on the force."

"And I think we both passed that point long ago," Vecchio said quietly. For him, anyway.

"Yeah," Ray said. "It's just like—it's like he's in the back of my head now, and we're out here, doing this, getting into impossible situations and I find myself asking, 'what would Fraser do?' Which is completely insane, of course."

"Well, yeah," Vecchio said. "Except for the fact that he's still alive. And we're still alive. So, you know, you could do worse."

Ray opened his mouth, then closed it again, then said, "I could, at that, I guess."

There was silence for a moment then, broken by the sound of Gomez's car starting up, of the perp's obscenities now muffled by the car door. Then they were driving away and when Ray turned to watch them go, he saw another officer taking a picture of his gun, lying fifteen feet away, in the middle of the alley.

He saw Vecchio looking, too, smirking, and then sure enough, Vecchio spoke.

"That was still a completely stupid thing to do, though. Seriously, Kowalski. You threw your gun at him."

And that sounded more like the sort of response Ray would have expected from Vecchio in the first place, but there was a teasing edge to it now, too. And a matching sort of smile on Vecchio's face when he turned back towards Ray.

Which was why Ray found himself almost-grinning, too, as he said, "Well, it worked, didn't it?"

To which Vecchio responded, "Yeah, but I think if you're going to be making a habit of this sort of thing, I'm going to have to buy you that boomerang you were talking about. Or possibly nunchucks."

And Ray didn't see any other way to respond to that than to flip Vecchio off and say, "Yeah, well, fuck you very much. See if I ever save your life again."

At which point Vecchio laughed, really-truly, and slapped Ray on the shoulder, and as they both pushed away from the car and started walking back towards the crime scene, Ray realized he was feeling almost normal again.

End.

Date: 2006-04-24 03:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] grey853.livejournal.com
I can handle gen RayV/RayK. Cool job, perfect title.

Date: 2006-04-24 04:10 pm (UTC)
fairestcat: Dreadful the cat (RayK Wide Open Spaces)
From: [personal profile] fairestcat
I love the interaction between the two Ray's here, especially this:

He paused, waiting for Vecchio to either agree or disagree, but when the other man did neither he sighed, continued: "Apparently you can only work with him for so long before he starts rubbing off on you. In ways that displace 12 years of training on the force."

"And I think we both passed that point long ago," Vecchio said quietly. For him, anyway.

"Yeah," Ray said. "It's just like—it's like he's in the back of my head now, and we're out here, doing this, getting into impossible situations and I find myself asking, 'what would Fraser do?' Which is completely insane, of course."

"Well, yeah," Vecchio said. "Except for the fact that he's still alive. And we're still alive. So, you know, you could do worse."

Ray opened his mouth, then closed it again, then said, "I could, at that, I guess."


I'm really drawn to how they're both so fundementally changed by their association with Fraser, in ways they don't even realize until suddenly they're throwing a gun at a perp or whatever. Fraser's this force of nature that comes in and changes everything he touches, and the only choice is either to fight it or to let go of everything you thought you knew and go along for the ride, and these two definitely went along for the ride.

Date: 2006-04-24 04:59 pm (UTC)
ext_12460: acquired from fanpop.com (Ray/Ray by stormymouse)
From: [identity profile] akite.livejournal.com
Gunslinger. *snicker* Perfect title. Good story too. The new motto, What would Fraser do? *g*

Date: 2006-04-25 01:24 am (UTC)
ext_3548: (Default)
From: [identity profile] shayheyred.livejournal.com
Utterly delightful. "What would Fraser do?" seems to me to be an entirely appropriate question. Especially since adoring Fraser is something of a religion for me!

Date: 2006-04-25 01:24 am (UTC)
sperrywink: (crazy canadian show)
From: [personal profile] sperrywink
Hee! That was so cute and funny.

Date: 2006-04-25 02:45 am (UTC)
lorem_ipsum: Chiana in profile, head back, eyes closed (heart by spiffy_themes)
From: [personal profile] lorem_ipsum
Yaaaaaaaay!

Date: 2006-04-25 02:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] j-s-cavalcante.livejournal.com
Hey, this is great! I love seeing the two Rays together as they really might be in canon--the way we saw them work together in CoTW before RayV was shot.

I love the expression "pulled a Fraser." That about covers it! And it worked!!! Hurrah for Ray, for doing it. Fraser, for inspiring it. And Ray V. for understanding it andpointing out...they're all still alive.

The title is great!

Date: 2006-04-25 06:57 am (UTC)
ext_20943: (Default)
From: [identity profile] sam80853.livejournal.com
OMG! I can so see Ray standing there looking at his empty hand, helplessly, not believing that he "—pulled a Fraser.

Vecchio was laughing, but Ray was still looking down at his hand, flexing his fingers, curling them tightly and then letting them go loose again.

Poor thing!

Great!

Now I wanna know where Fraser is and what he has to say about it!

Date: 2006-04-25 12:35 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] indywind
Much as I love the porn, I appreciate more the density of history & emotion you've conveyed here without the least bit of sex.

One of the best things about the Rays is the way they understand each other, and you've captured that here.

lovely.

Date: 2006-04-26 12:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mergatrude.livejournal.com
Yay! This was very cool. Nice to see the Ray's working well together.

Date: 2006-04-27 12:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] marcellapolman.livejournal.com
Great story!

You say it's gen, and you are the author so you're right of course, but can I please - please - dream of this as a pre-slash fic?

I love the Ray/Ray interaction. And I love how you made Fraser sort of the star of the fic without having him present. This is one of the best ways I have seen people handle the 'problem' the Mountie poses in non-Fraser 'pairings'.

Date: 2006-05-01 06:13 pm (UTC)
ext_2366: (by sdwolfpup: man of all seasons (dS))
From: [identity profile] sdwolfpup.livejournal.com
I loved this! Great banter, and what a perfect way of showing how Fraser has affected both the Rays. And this made me laugh: "Seriously, Kowalski. You threw your gun at him." Just so Vecchio.

Date: 2006-05-03 08:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] joandarck.livejournal.com
Oh thank god, a RayV-RayK story that's NOT Ray/Ray. Thank you! Finally! FOr once!

Date: 2006-05-10 04:02 am (UTC)
ext_1611: Isis statue (ray gun)
From: [identity profile] isiscolo.livejournal.com
This was really excellent! Snappy dialogue, and it seemed really true to the way the Rays would interact as partners. "What Would Fraser Do?" indeed!

Here from Crack_Van

Date: 2006-06-10 04:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nightwalker.livejournal.com
This is hilarious! Very nice story, especially the banter between the Rays. I think I shall have to go investigate your other stories now. ^_^

Date: 2006-08-09 03:43 am (UTC)
ext_3554: dream wolf (Default)
From: [identity profile] keerawa.livejournal.com
*snickers*

What Would Fraser Do?

One of the delightful things about the show was how Fraser's optimism and honesty really DID tend to inspire those around him.

You know, I once read a story that mentioned Fraser becoming a teacher at the Depot. And now I imagine generations of impressionable young Mounties, heading out across Canada, pulling Frasers.

Date: 2006-12-11 05:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] viciouswishes.livejournal.com
That was just great. Fraser definitely changed both of them.

Date: 2007-02-26 09:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] the_antichris.livejournal.com
I hope you don't mind a late comment (sparked by [livejournal.com profile] china_shop's Fandom Appreciation Challenge, I'm reading challenges I didn't have time to read when they were live), but this is great! Fraser rubbing off on both RayV and RayK - very believable, and a light, funny touch with seriousness behind it.

Date: 2007-11-16 06:29 am (UTC)
ext_9063: (due South Rays looking)
From: [identity profile] mlyn.livejournal.com
Led here by a rec. :)

Kowalski doing something weird and out of the ordinary is par for the course. Doing it without thinking to save Vecchio is LOOOOVE, and I love them for it. *draws hearts in the air*

Date: 2007-12-07 02:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] j-s-cavalcante.livejournal.com
Hadn't seen this! Hee! Very sweet. If Vecchio had stayed on the force and Kowalski had returned to it, I could believe something very like this would certainly happen. What's more, Vecchio would have his moment of "pulling a Fraser," too, though his would be more like holding the door for someone...well, something nonlethal, anyway. Perhaps it would involve a dumpster. :) Nice work.

Date: 2010-04-01 10:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] csad21.livejournal.com
You know you're a good writer when...
...four years after the fact your stories still get recommended and loved by people. :)

This is a very nice Kowalski & Vecchio story. I always imagined something like this to be their partnership if Fraser were to remove himself from the equation.

And you know what? I'm totally imagining Vecchio gleefully telling Fraser all about how Kowalski "pulled a Fraser" when they get back to the station. Because of course Fraser is back in Chicago and living with Kowalski, and Vecchio could never resist an opportunity to get a dig in :)

Do you have other Due South stories? Hmm.. will have to look.

Profile

ds_flashfiction: (Default)
Due South Flashfiction Community

July 2025

S M T W T F S
   12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:19 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios