[identity profile] qe2.livejournal.com posting in [community profile] ds_flashfiction
On the one hand, it is so not 21 November any more in my part of the world.

On the other hand, Ces hasn't called time on the challenge yet.

::gulps and posts::

Unbetaed, because I did not get my act together in time for the tremendous and outspoken [livejournal.com profile] estrella30 to get hold of it and make it better. Blame me for everything.

ETA: Kowalski/Vecchio. Probably R, although I have a little trouble with the gradations between "safe for the kiddies" and "omgtheyaresototallydoingit", so YMMV.



Dedicated to [livejournal.com profile] _aerye_, who also enjoys teasing me (*coughtoyficletcough*) and with whom I hope some day to see all the best RayV eps.


Cubes
“Ah, shitshitshit…yeowch! Kowalski, godammit, this shirt is fucking silk!”

Perfect timing. By the time Vecchio untwists from the knot he’s tied himself into trying—and failing—to get at the ice cubes I slipped down his back when he wasn’t looking, I’m lounging at my desk, boots crossed on top of it, relaxed and ready to go. I think about trying for an innocent look to go with the pose, but decide (1) I can’t pull it off and (b) it’s not worth it anyway: a smirk’ll be so much more irritating, and irritating Vecchio is the name of the game today. And hey, I’m thinking it worked, because I’m getting the patented Vecchio Is Pissed stare, which means I’ve gotten under his skin enough to disturb that undercover-blues persona of his, that too-hip-to-be-square thing he thinks he’s got going on when we all know where he’s been and what he grew up running away from.

Sure enough, he’s falling for it, starting toward me, smoke coming out his ears. “Kowalski, you asshole, if you’ve ruined this shirt I swear I’m gonna strangle you with it. Are you bored or something? Not enough crime in Chicago to occupy your tiny brain, so you gotta create some by ruining my shirt? Tired of jerking off in the men’s room? Left your knitting at home? Jesus— ”

“Vecchio!” Welsh is standing in the door of his office, arms crossed, standard-issue Ray-wrangling look on his face. I manage not to look at him—took me a while to get out of that habit, believe me, but I finally kicked it, and not a minute too soon. “I sympathize, reluctantly, with your desire to preserve your wardrobe from Detective Kowalski’s tender ministrations. However, I do not sympathize with your desire to do so in the middle of my bullpen, where some of your fellow cops are actually trying to earn their daily pay. Take it outside, gentlemen, and don’t bring it back in until you’ve gotten it out of your systems.”

Fine with me—exactly what I was shooting for, though I’m not gonna say so—so I stand up and walk past Vecchio, right through his personal space, still smirking at him.

“Coming, Vecchio?”

Out of the corner of my eye I can see Vecchio’s fists clench, and I’m betting he’s got his mouth open, ready to argue—with me, with Welsh, with anyone dumb enough to open his mouth right now. But I’ve been watching Vecchio, and I’ve got his number: scratch his tough-guy surface and the obedient little Catholic boy’s right there, ready and waiting. When push comes to shove, Vecchio does what he’s told. This time’s no exception: I can hear him behind me, breathing hard, practically stomping in those expensive shoes. I laugh at him, just loud enough that he can hear, and the stomps get louder—but they don’t stop, which pretty much proves my point.

First thing he does once we’re out back is pull his shirt out of his pants and shake the rest of the ice out onto the ground. I lean back against the wall, one foot up and my hands in the pockets of my jeans, and just watch the show. I sneaked a pretty good handful down past his collar—long skinny fingers have a lot of uses—so some of the cubes are still whole, but not many. Looks like one or two went even farther than I’d hoped, because now he’s worked a hand down the back of those pants and the look on his face says there’s ice in some brand new places.

“Of all the juvenile tricks to pull— What is it with you, Kowalski? You got a problem with me? Because Jesus, you just can’t keep your hands off of me for a fuckin’ second, can you.”

There it is—the perfect opening, and my mum didn’t raise any idiots, so…

“Nope,” I say.

I wait for it to sink in. Three…two…one…bingo, he’s got it, he’s there. I can see the jolt run through him, a quick shock to the system; his head comes up so fast I’m thinking he’ll have a little whiplash later and he freezes, staring at me hard, not blinking. I raise an eyebrow and push my hips out towards him, just a little, just to make sure he’s getting the full story—he’s a little slow sometimes, I don’t want to confuse him.

God, I love this part, this point where I’ve made all the moves I’m gonna make and the other guy’s gotta decide: fight? or fuck? I’m pretty sure I know which way Vecchio’ll jump—like I said, I’ve been watching him for a while now—but hey, if he takes a swing at me I can handle that, too. It’ll go my way in the end.

Vecchio’s moving again, moving my way, one hand closed around the last piece of ice he rescued, and his mouth’s tight and his eyes are slitted and his cock—I take a quick look to check—is hard enough to prove he dresses left. Hah. Fuck and fight, then. Suits me fine. When he gets close enough he opens both hands, dropping the ice, and shoves me in the chest, hard. But - surprise, surprise - there's no follow-up punch. Instead, he leaves his hands on me, leaning his weight on them, breathing with a little whine in it now. He's still staring at me, and his hands are rubbing circles around my nipples, and the cold wetness is sinking into my shirt the way I bet it's done all down his back.

I was right. Vecchio wants this; he wants it as much as I do. He may not know it yet, but he’s working it out.

And when he does?

Fuck ice: there’s gonna be fireworks.

Date: 2004-11-22 07:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] norah.livejournal.com
Mmmm. Lovely Ray/Ray, and it's good to see Kowalski on top. Thank you!

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] raveninthewind.livejournal.com - Date: 2004-11-29 01:42 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] raveninthewind.livejournal.com - Date: 2004-11-29 05:03 pm (UTC) - Expand

Date: 2004-11-22 08:07 am (UTC)
ext_3579: I'm still not watching supernatural. (Default)
From: [identity profile] the-star-fish.livejournal.com
Very very nice indeed. Yum.

Date: 2004-11-22 08:18 am (UTC)
ext_12460: acquired from fanpop.com (Tired already by Daughtershade)
From: [identity profile] akite.livejournal.com
Wheee! I love me some good Ray/Ray. This was good. Thanks, qe2.

Date: 2004-11-22 08:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sprat.livejournal.com
Oooh, the hot bitchy HOT-ness! This is some great Ray/Ray, [livejournal.com profile] qe2. I love Kowalski here:
I raise an eyebrow and push my hips out towards him, just a little, just to make sure he’s getting the full story—he’s a little slow sometimes, I don’t want to confuse him.

He's so in charge and so, you know...slutty. And he's totally got Vecchio's number. Whoo. What an excellent way to start the morning...

::fans self::

Date: 2004-11-22 08:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sprat.livejournal.com
ps--if you're ever stuck for beta, I so totally volunteer. plinkinsk@ yahoo.ca

Date: 2004-11-22 08:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] brooklinegirl.livejournal.com
God, I love this part, this point where I’ve made all the moves I’m gonna make and the other guy’s gotta decide: fight? or fuck? I’m pretty sure I know which way Vecchio’ll jump—like I said, I’ve been watching him for a while now—but hey, if he takes a swing at me I can handle that, too. It’ll go my way in the end.

*twirls all giddy*

Yes yes YES omfg this is JUST what I love about the two of them. There's none of that "oh jesus if I hit on him, I'll ruin EVERYTHING" deal. There's just THIS: they can fight, or they can fuck, and it's all good, and none of it really CHANGES anything and they're just SUCH PERFECT SLUTTY BOYS.

Vecchio’s moving again, moving my way, one hand closed around the last piece of ice he rescued, and his mouth’s tight and his eyes are slitted and his cock—I take a quick look to check—is hard enough to prove he dresses left. Hah. Fuck and fight, then.

*nodsnodsNODS* That's the BEST, that's the absolute best, that's the way it IS with them and I love them - and YOU - to fucking DEATH. WOnderful!

*smooches you*

Date: 2004-11-22 08:47 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aerye.livejournal.com
Fuck ice: there's gonna be fireworks.

Wow--tease me all you want if there's more of this kinda thing involved.

I am mush. Ooey gooey mush. Also very in love with my boys right now.

Thank you!

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] aerye.livejournal.com - Date: 2004-11-23 05:44 am (UTC) - Expand

Date: 2004-11-22 10:38 am (UTC)
ext_3548: (Default)
From: [identity profile] shayheyred.livejournal.com
Whee! I love this image of Kowalski, totally self-assured and expecting things to go his way. It's a departure, and a welcome one.

Date: 2004-11-22 02:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] engenda.livejournal.com
Babe, that just rocked. One thing I've always loved about RayK in canon and in fic is his unashamed sexuality. It's my opinion that who he wants doesn't matter - gender wise - it's sex, it's heat and its all good. Poor Vecchio, he just doesn't know what's hit him...for the first 3 seconds then he wises up and gets in the game. Bless him. They're fucking and snarking and I love it!

And this, this was a tease. Teasing is bad.

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] engenda.livejournal.com - Date: 2004-11-22 08:54 pm (UTC) - Expand

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] engenda.livejournal.com - Date: 2004-11-29 05:00 pm (UTC) - Expand

Date: 2004-11-22 02:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] burntcopper.livejournal.com
mwhahaha. Go Ray.

Date: 2004-11-22 04:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] katallison.livejournal.com
Can I just say -- I love this, love it love it love it. Hot, funny, snarky, smart, and did I mention *hot*?

You rock. Thanks so much for this!

(no subject)

From: [identity profile] raucousraven.livejournal.com - Date: 2004-11-22 11:05 pm (UTC) - Expand

Date: 2004-11-22 05:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rjm-257.livejournal.com
Their love is so true because they snark.

Kowalski's got his number, alright. When push comes to shove, Vecchio does what he’s told. And Kowalski knows just how and when to push.

Date: 2004-11-22 07:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mergatrude.livejournal.com
I’ve got his number: scratch his tough-guy surface and the obedient little Catholic boy’s right there, ready and waiting. When push comes to shove, Vecchio does what he’s told.

OMG there is so much you can do with this!! Wonderfully, wonderfully wonderful! *m hastily hunts for thesaurus, gives up and returns to drooling all over [livejournal.com profile] qe2*

Date: 2004-11-23 01:42 am (UTC)
sage: Still of Natasha Romanova from Iron Man 2 (rayk)
From: [personal profile] sage
oh yum.... This RayK is just to die for.

*feeds sequel bunnies*

Date: 2004-11-23 04:53 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] merelyn.livejournal.com
Eeee! This was wonderful! What a lovely way to wake up. :)

Date: 2004-11-23 08:24 am (UTC)
axiom_of_stripe: DC Comics: Kory cries "X'Hal!" (Open all night)
From: [personal profile] axiom_of_stripe
purrrrr!

Date: 2004-11-23 09:13 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] estrella30.livejournal.com
Holy shit.

Ok. Yes I loved the RayK in this. Yes I loved the smirky, confident, alpha, TOP!RayK in this.

Who the hell wouldn't??

But what I really loved - *really really* was your fucking fantastic RayV voice.

From the very first line: “Ah, shitshitshit…yeowch! Kowalski, godammit, this shirt is fucking silk!”

To this: “Kowalski, you asshole, if you’ve ruined this shirt I swear I’m gonna strangle you with it. Are you bored or something? Not enough crime in Chicago to occupy your tiny brain, so you gotta create some by ruining my shirt? Tired of jerking off in the men’s room? Left your knitting at home? Jesus— ”

Are just - *perfect, perfect* Vecchio-isms. Really. Totally amazing.

And hot? Dude - this is on *fire*

you just can’t keep your hands off of me for a fuckin’ second, can you.”

There it is—the perfect opening, and my mum didn’t raise any idiots, so…

“Nope,” I say.


nrrrrrrrrrngh. Loved this - loved it! Welcome to the dark side, m'dear. You're gonna like it here.



Date: 2004-11-23 11:00 pm (UTC)
china_shop: Close-up of Zhao Yunlan grinning (Default)
From: [personal profile] china_shop
I do not read Ray/Ray. I do not read Ray/Ray. Except, y'know, maybe occasionally. This was totally worth it! :)

“Of all the juvenile tricks to pull— What is it with you, Kowalski? You got a problem with me? Because Jesus, you just can’t keep your hands off of me for a fuckin’ second, can you.”

There it is—the perfect opening, and my mum didn’t raise any idiots, so…

“Nope,” I say.


Oh yeah! *loves*

Date: 2004-11-24 07:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kassrachel.livejournal.com
God, I love this part, this point where I’ve made all the moves I’m gonna make and the other guy’s gotta decide: fight? or fuck? I’m pretty sure I know which way Vecchio’ll jump—like I said, I’ve been watching him for a while now—but hey, if he takes a swing at me I can handle that, too.

Ohhh, yeah.

Gorgeous last line, too.

Date: 2005-06-30 03:47 am (UTC)
lorem_ipsum: Chiana in profile, head back, eyes closed (Default)
From: [personal profile] lorem_ipsum
Hot.

(Especially RayK knowing RayV better than he knows himself, and especially especially that little outthrust-hips flirting thing.)

Profile

ds_flashfiction: (Default)
Due South Flashfiction Community

July 2025

S M T W T F S
   12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:27 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios